Dimitri Moderbacher


Close To My Heart

Dimitri's debut CD showcases his unique compositional style and melodic sensibility. Recorded live at SoHo's Kavehaz in February 2002, this remarkable CD features seven original compositions. Close To My Heart draws on the talent of German guitarist Sandra Hempel, bassist Phil Palombi and drummer Jason Wildman.

>>> read full review <<<

Dimitri Moderbacher - Close To My Heart

1. Little Brother click to hear excerpt of Little Brother
2. Liberation click to hear excerpt of Liberation
3. Mom's Backyard click to hear excerpt of Mom's Backyard
4. Sunshine Line click to hear excerpt of Sunshine Line
5. Your Highness click to hear excerpt of Your Highness
6. Frassasass click to hear excerpt of Frassasass
7. Song for Stephanie click to hear excerpt of Song for Stephanie

Buy 'Close To My Heart'!




Other Recordings

Jamie Begian - Big Fat GrinJamie Begian Big Bandread reviews: 123
Big Fat Grin (2010)
John O'Gallagher, Marc McDonald, Ben Kono, Dimitri Moderbacher, Dan Goble, (reeds), Tom Goehring, Dave Scott, Marty Bound, Jason Colby (trumpets and flugelhorns), Jeff Bush, Deborah Weisz, Paul Olenick, Max Seigel (trombones), Bruce Arnold, Jamie Begian (guitars), Dave Ambrosio (bass), Peter Retzlaff (drums).

Angela Ortiz - All About YouAngela Ortiz
All About You (2006)
Singer/Sonwriter Angela Ortiz's debut album. Dimitri plays saxophone and clarinet, and also engineered and mixed the album.
Ryan Scott (acoustic & electric guitar), Marco Panascia (electric & acoustic bass), Michael Blanco (electric bass), Bill Campbell (drums), Andre Canniere (trumpet), Dimitri Moderbacher (saxophone, clarinet)

Pyeng Threadgill - Portholes To A Love & Other Short StoriesPyeng Threadgill
Portholes To A Love & Other Short Stories (2009)
Pyeng Threadgill's third album.
Pyeng Threadgill (vocals), Tyler Wood (keys), Derek Nievergelt (bass), John Shannon (guitar), Evan Pazner (drums), Kevin Louis (cornet, percussion), Dimitri Moderbacher (saxophone).

Pyeng Threadgill - Of The AirPyeng Threadgill
Of The Air (2005)
Pyeng Threadgill's second album. Original compositions. Dimitri co-composed and arranged Power Trip.
Pyeng Threadgill (vocals), Shelley Doty (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals), Ryan Scott (acoustic guitar, electric guitar), Dana Leong (cello), Dimitri Moderbacher (clarinet, saxophone), Jason Levis (marimba), Lisa Mezzacappa (acoustic bass), Myra Melford (harmonium).

Pyeng Threadgill - Sweet Home: The Music of Robert JohnsonPyeng Threadgill
Sweet Home: The Music of Robert Johnson (2004)
Pyeng Threadgill has created a new take on the legendary Robert Johnson's blues that unites it with the sounds of our times--jazz, latin rhythms, reggae, soul, pop and hip-hop.
Pyeng Threadgill (vocals, hand claps), Ryan Scott (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, hand claps, sampler, background vocals), Dana Leong (cello, trombone, electric bass, bass guitar, hand claps), Dimitri Moderbacher (clarinet), Dave Pier (piano), Luz Fleming (Fender Rhodes piano), Sachal Vasandani, Ian Jeffreys, Laura Johnson (background vocals).

Ruslan Khain - Tie It InRuslan Khain Sextet
Tie It In (2007)
A great sextet recording featuring original compositions by Ruslan Khain. Featuring Yoshiro Okazaki on trumpet, Dimitri Moderbacher on tenor saxophone, Josh Brown on trombone, Richard Clements on piano, Phil Stewart on drums, Ilya Lushtak on guitar, Ruslan Khain on bass.

Juergen Reiter & Orkaan Orkestra - No TrespassingJuergen Reiter's Orkaan Orkestra
No Trespassing (2004)
This is a jazz quartet augmented by french horn, woodwinds and electronics to create a wide palette of soundscapes. creative improvising over composer/bassist Juergen Reiter's wacky and wonderful compositions.
Juergen Reiter (bass), Dimitri Moderbacher (ts, as, ss, fl, cl, b.clar.), Steve Blanco (piano), Steve Nasi (drums), Will De Vos (french horn), David Kirkpatrick (electronics)

Reiko Aoki - Dreaming on a CarouselReiko Aoki
Dreaming On A Carousel (2004)
Composer/Arranger Reiko Aoki brought five New York musicians together to record her music. Her original compositions range from the introspective 'My Personal Remedy' to the romping 'Shorter Than Wayne'.
Reiko Aoki (vocals)
Erik Jekabson (trumpet, flugelhorn), Dimitri Moderbacher (tenor & soprano saxes, flute), Matt Ray (piano), Dave Ambrosio (bass), Jason Wildman (drums)

Jamie Begian CDJamie Begian Big Band
Trance (2003)
While adhering to the traditional 17-piece big band format, Jamie Begian's compositional palette ranges from the serene Suddenly, Summer Falls to the menacingly funky Fuzzy Math. The band features a host of New York Jazz Talent, such as John O'Gallagher on alto sax, trumpeter Matt Schulman, pianist Roberta Piket, bassist Dave Ambrosio and guitarist Bruce Arnold. Combine those fearless leaders with Jamie's writing and the rest of the regular rompers and you're ready to go to the mill!

Dominé (2003)
I'm part of the horn section on this 2003 release by DOZZ, one of the newer bands on the Haitian Konpa scene. It features bandleaders Pierre Jospitre on vocals and Makarios Césaire on lead guitar. The album was a hit in the Caribbean and France this year.

Tabou Combo - Tu As VoléTabou Combo
Tu As Volé (2000)
Great music by the best band in the business. Tabou Combo has been at the forefront of modern Haitian music for over thirty years. The deepness of the groove will have you dancing on your hoove.

Arbeitermusikverein Stadtkapelle Judenburg - PremiereArbeitermusikverein Stadtkapelle Judenburg
Premiere (1998)
This is a concert band I was asked to record with in the Spring of 1998. I had just finished my eight months, six days and two hours in the Austrian Honor Guard Military Band. The brother of my good friend and fellow military musician Werner Wilding is the conductor (Kapellmeister) of this 47-piece ensemble. We recorded the CD in two exhausting 14-hour days. The music ranged from traditional military music by Johann Strauss to Leonard Bernstein's West Side Story to a musical journey through the Andes mountains.